RCE Otago

Photo Credit: RCE Otago
Rce details
Region:
ASIA-PACIFIC
Country:
New Zealand
Overview
Date of RCE acknowledgement:
December, 2019
Description of RCE and Geographic Region:

We are a network of Indigenous people, educators, students, researchers, non-profits, government leaders, businesses and community members collaborating to promote sustainability education, training, and public awareness.

Located near the bottom of New Zealand’s South Island, Otago’s varied landscaped includes rugged coastlines, spectacular mountains, alpine lakes and national parks. The area is known for farming, forestry, horticulture, education and tourism. Otago has many unique natural features, including the only mainland colony of albatross in the world.

Goals and Objectives:

RCE Otago (Whaiao) will uphold the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi through our bicultural governance model, enabled by memorandums of understanding between Otago Polytechnic, the University of Otago, Dunedin City Council, Otago Regional Council and Kāi Tahu.

Organisation Hosting RCE Secretariat:

Name of organisation: Otago Polytechnic
Type of organisation: Tertiary education provider

Key Partners:

EDUCATION

Name of organisation: Otago Polytechnic Ltd
Role: Tertiary Education Provider
Contact name: Dr Barry Law
Contact email: barry.law@op.ac.nz

Name of organisation: University of Otago
Role: Tertiary Education provider
Contact name: Ray O’Brien
Contact email: ray.obrien@otago.ac.nz

Name of organisation: Otago Girls High School
Role: Secondary school education provider
Contact name: Linda Miller
Contact email: mi@otagogirls.school.nz

Name of organisation: Otago Boys High School
Role: Secondary school education provider
Contact name: Richard Hall
Contact email: rector@otagoboys.school.nz

Name of organisation: St Kevin’s College
Role: Secondary school education provider
Contact name: Kerry Ryan
Contact email: kryan@stkevins.school.nz

Name of organisation: Tokomairiro High School
Role: Secondary school education provider
Contact name: Glenis Sim
Contact email: thsprincipal@tokohigh.school.nz

Name of organisation: Open Education Resource
Role: Online education
Contact name: Wayne MacIntosh
Contact email: wayne@oerfoundation.org

Name of organisation: Kaikorai Valley College
Role: Secondary school education provider
Contact name: Dr Simon McMillan
Contact email: simeone@kvc.school.ac.nz

Name of organisation: Queenstown Resort College
Role: Private training educator
Contact name: Karen Murphy
Contact email: karen.murphy@qrc.ac.nz

Name of organisation: Musselburgh School
Role: Primary school education
Contact name: Favina Hunt
Contact email: davinah@musselburgh.school.nz

Name of organisation: Waitaki Boys High School
Role: Secondary school education provider
Contact name: Darryl Paterson
Contact email: rector@waitakibhs.school.nz

Name of organisation: The Hillary Institute
Role: Private training educator
Contact name: Mark Prain
Contact email: thehillaryinstitute@gmail.com

GOVERNMENT/LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Name of organisation: Dunedin City Council
Role: Local Government
Contact name: Aaron Hawkins, Mayor of Dunedin
Contact email: aaron.hawkins@dcc.govt.nz

Name of organisation: Central Otago District Council
Role: Local Government
Contact name: Tim Cadogan
Contact email: mayor@codc.govt.nz

Name of organisation: Queenstown Lakes District Council
Role: Local Government
Contact name: Mike Theelen
Contact email: mike.theelen@qldc.govt.nz

Name of organisation: Clutha District Council
Role: Local Government
Contact name: Bryan Cadogan
Contact email: bryan.cadogan@cluthadc.govt.nz

Name of organisation: Otago Regional Council
Role: Regional Government
Contact name: Robyn Zink
Contact email: robyn.zink@orc.org.nz

Name of organisation: Fish and Game New Zealand
Role: Protection agency
Contact name: Ian Hadland
Contact email: ihadland@fishandgame.org.nz

PRIMARY INDUSTRIES 

Name of organisation: AgResearch
Role: Research and protection agency
Contact name: Jo Brady
Contact email: jo.brady@agresearch.co.nz

Name of organisation: Land Care Research
Role: Research and protection agency
Contact name: Gwen Grelet
Contact email: GreletG@landcareresearch.co.nz

Name of organisation: Federated Farmers
Role: Farming regulatory body
Contact name: Simon Davies
Contact email: tokofarms@gmail.com

Name of organisation: Dairy New Zealand
Role: Dairy farming regulatory body
Contact name: Hana
Contact email: info@dairynz.co.nz

Name of organisation: Silver Fern Farms
Role: Meat exporters
Contact name: Justin Courtney
Contact email: justin.courtney@silverfernfarms.co.nz

Name of organisation: Beef and Lamb NZ
Role: Meat exporters & regulatory body
Contact name: Tom Orchiston
Contact email: tom.orchiston@beeflambnz.com

TOURISM

Name of organisation: Ziptrek
Role: Tourist operator
Contact name: Trent Yeo
Contact email: tyeo@ziptrek.com

Name of organisation: Tourist Industry Association
Role: Parent body for tourist operators
Contact name: Megan Williams
Contact email: megan.williams@tia.org.nz

Name of organisation: Lake Wanaka Tourism
Role: Tourist operator
Contact name: James Helmore
Contact email: james@wanaka.co.nz

Name of organisation: Nomad Safaris
Role: Tourist operator
Contact name: Amanda Gatward-Ferguson
Contact email: amanda@nomadsafaris.co.nz

Name of organisation: Lake Wanaka Trust
Role: Community awareness and education
Contact name: Tim Barke
Contact email: gm@wanaka.co.nz

BUSINESSES AND INDUSTRY 

Name of organisation: Port Otago
Role: Port authority
Contact name: Carolyn Bennett
Contact email: cbennett@portotago.co.nz

Name of organisation: Naylor Love
Role: Construction Company
Contact name: Becky Thompson
Contact email: becky.thompson@naylorlove.co.nz

Name of organisation: Otago Cosy Homes Trust
Role: Sustainable homes consultancy
Contact name: Jeremy Baker
Contact email: jeremy@cosyhomes.org.nz

Name of organisation: Mana whenua
Role: Local iwi
Contact name: Hinerangi Ferrall-Heath
Contact email: ferrallheath@gmail.com

Name of organisation: Contact Energy
Role: Power provider and power dam operator
Contact name: Neil Gillespie
Contact email: neil.gillespie@contactenergy.co.nz

ECOLOGICAL ORGANSIATIONS 

Name of organisation: Sustainable Queenstown
Role: Community education and awareness
Contact name: Esther Whitehead
Contact email: thinkingdifferentlynz@gmail.com

Name of organisation: Shaping our Future
Role: Community education and awareness
Contact name: AJ Mason
Contact email: aj@iq.org.nz

Name of organisation: Onenewzealand
Role: Community education and awareness
Contact name: Monique Kelly
Contact email: monique@onenewzealand.co.nz

Name of organisation: Global Forests Initiative
Role: Forestry
Contact name: Dr. Carly Green
Contact email: carly.green@enviroaccounts.com

Name of organisation: Water Action Initiative - WAI
Role: Water protection
Contact name: Julie Perry
Contact email: secretary@uppercluthalakestrust.org

Name of organisation: Orokanui Ecodanctuary
Role: Wildlife ecosanctuary
Contact name: Amanda Tahu
Contact email: amanda@orokanui.nz

Name of organisation: Alpine Lakes Research & Education Centre
Role: Awareness and education
Contact name: Katie Hart
Contact email: katie@waiwanaka.nz

Activities
Current Activities:
  • Partnerships – including partnering with local iwi (indigenous people)
  • Education
  • Tourism
  • Sustainable cities, towns and homes
  • Water quality
  • Funding – gaining funding from external sourcing
Upcoming Activities:
  • Health
Achievements:
  • Being accepted in the global RCE family


(Photo credit: RCE Otago)

Communication Channels
Publications:
Twitter handle:
YouTube page:
Contact Details
Main RCE Contact:
Dr Barry Law, Director
Barry.law@op.ac.nz
Secondary RCE Contact:
Mrs Andrea Hessian
Andreah@op.ac.nz
RCE Youth Coordinator(s):
General RCE email:
RCE mailing address for correspondence:

Private Bag 1910
Dunedin 9054
New Zealand