2018 RCE Awards for Innovative Projects on Education for Sustainable Development

2018 RCE Awards for Innovative Projects on Education for Sustainable Development

The Global RCE Service Centre at the United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS) announces a call for nominations for the 7th annual RCE Awards. RCEs are encouraged to nominate one or more of their ESD projects for the award. ESD projects illustrate how RCEs address local sustainable development challenges, and therefore provide an example of how the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) can be implemented at the local level through quality education. These ESD projects also have the potential to leverage partnerships and funding for other projects or programmes within an RCE network.

ESD projects and programmes nominated for the Award are to demonstrate how an RCE is promoting multi-stakeholder learning processes through policy dialogue, research and collaborative partnerships. Award recipients will be featured at the RCE Global Conference this December in Cebu, the Philippines.

The purpose of the Award is to celebrate outstanding projects and programmes on education for sustainable development (ESD) with a view to increasing the visibility of the work of individual RCEs as well as the Global RCE network. The Award also aims at highlighting how distinct sustainable development capacities, expertise and resources within an RCE network are being drawn upon to implement transformative learning to encourage sustainable development.

Categories for the Awards

Submissions are invited in any of the following categories to underscore the contribution of RCEs to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) or other themes related to ESD:

  • SDG 1: No poverty
  • SDG 2: Zero hunger
  • SDG 3: Good health and well-being
  • SDG 4: Quality education
  • SDG 5: Gender equality
  • SDG 6: Clean water and sanitation
  • SDG 7: Affordable and clean energy
  • SDG 8: Decent work and economic growth
  • SDG 9: Industry, Innovation, and infrastructure
  • SDG 10: Reduced inequalities
  • SDG 11: Sustainable cities and communities
  • SDG 12: Responsible consumption and production
  • SDG 13: Climate action
  • SDG 14: Life below water
  • SDG 15: Life on land
  • SDG 16: Peace, justice, and strong institutions
  • SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals
  • Disaster risk reduction
  • Traditional knowledge
  • Agriculture
  • Arts
  • Curriculum development
  • Ecotourism
  • Forests/trees
  • Plants & animals
  • Waste


To be eligible for consideration for the RCE Award, nominated projects and programmes need to:

  • Be a partnership between different RCE stakeholders (at least two contributing stakeholder organizations working on the project/programme). Engagement of stakeholders from different sectors is encouraged (formal education, local government, private sector, NGOs, etc.). Please make sure all stakeholder organizations have given permission for their name to be attached to the project!
  • Be supported (joint nomination) by the key RCE participating stakeholder organizations.
  • Have been completed between November 2017 and October 2018 or are in the final stages of implementation by October 2018.
  • Have not been a recognised project or programme in a previous RCE Award Programme.
  • Please note: each RCE may only submit one project per theme. For example, if your RCE has worked on multiple projects on a given theme, only submit the one you feel is the highest quality.
  • ESD projects previously submitted for regional meetings and annual reports are eligible – however, please ensure you complete the RCE Award Form (tick the ‘RCE Award’ box at the bottom of previously submitted projects to be redirected to the form)


To receive the Award, RCEs must demonstrate that their nominated projects and programmes meet the above-mentioned eligibility criteria and also:

  • Address one or several sustainability challenges in the region.
  • Link a regional sustainability challenge to a global challenges or processes.
  • Contribute to formal and/or non-formal learning and educational processes for sustainable development.
  • Encourage community engagement and empowerment (if applicable)
  • Engage multiple stakeholders within a defined coordination structure.
  • Improve capacities of partners and stakeholders
  • Discuss any challenges faced during implementation and how they were dealt with
  • Provide adequate references and links (if applicable)

Format for submission and review

Online submission of the Award project or programme is to be done on the RCE Portal and must be done by 31 October, 2018 (11:59pm, JST).  

To apply:

  1. Log in to the RCE Portal by visiting the page http://www.rcenetwork.org/portal/user/login (A list of usernames and logins can be found here)
  2. Once logged in, hover over ‘Community’ on the menu bar, and click on ‘RCE Projects’.
    1. If this is a new project, click 'Create Project' and complete the RCE Project form (A tutorial to guide you through the process of creating a project is available here )
    2. If you have previously submitted an RCE Project (between November 2017 – October 2018), locate your project and click ‘View’, then ‘Edit’
  3. At the bottom of the RCE Project form, please tick the box underneath the heading RCE Award 2018 which reads ‘I would like to submit this project for an RCE Award’.
  4. Complete the RCE Award project form and click submit.

Review of the submitted materials is to be undertaken by the RCE Award Working Group comprising representatives from RCEs, UNU-IAS staff, and the Ubuntu Committee of Peers. Announcement of the Award Winners will be in December of 2018.

**Please note, the deadline for award submissions has now closed.**