Capacity Building Marketplace
Fellowships Study Grants Call for papers or proposals e-learning Jobs internships Grants Call for expertsCall for experts Other
Applications Open: Wege Prize 2019

Wege Prize, organised by Kendall College of Art and Design’s Wege Center for Sustainable Design with support from the Wege Foundation, is an annual competition that ignites game-changing solutions for the future by inspiring college/university students around the world to collaborate across institutional, disciplinary, and cultural boundaries to redesign the way economies work. Participants contend for over $30,000 (USD) in total cash prizes, all while helping to show the world what the future of problem solving looks like.

Team applications are now being accepted for the Wege Prize 2019. Any full-time undergraduate or graduate student in the world is eligible to participate. More information can be found here. The deadline is 18 November, 2018 and applications can be submitted here.

Be the first to hear about key dates, deadlines, and announcements for the 2019 competition by signing up to the Wege Prize mailing list here.

Call for Entries: 2018 SEAMEO-Japan ESD Award

The Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) and the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan (MEXT) in cooperation with UNESCO Bangkok - Asia and Pacific Regional Bureau for Education are pleased to announce the 2018 SEAMEO-Japan Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) Award, with the theme ‘Applying Local Wisdom for Environmental Conservation’. The objectives of this year’s award are:

  • To raise awareness of local wisdom applied for environmental conservation and sustainable development in schools and communities in Southeast Asia and Japan
  • To promote and share initiatives and good practices that support sustainable development through the integration of local wisdom into the teaching and learning practices and school programmes that protects local environment and develops local community
  • To encourage schools to develop and improve current ESD activities and programmes

All public and private kindergarten/elementary/secondary/vocational and technical schools within 11 Southeast Asian countries are eligible to apply (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam).

The school awarded 1st prize will receive USD 1500 and a study tour to Japan, with prizes of USD 1,000 and USD 500 for 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively. The deadline for submissions is 3 September, 2018. Further information and details on how to apply can be found here.

Call for Entries – Wenhui Award for Educational Innovation 2018: Innovations in School, Family and Community
The theme of this year’s Wenhui Award is in line with the Sustainable Development Goal 4 - Education 2030 Agenda to ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all, as well as UNESCO’s vision of education to provide and enhance quality learning opportunities particularly to those most disadvantaged, vulnerable and marginalized.
Established by the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Programme of Educational Innovation for Development (APEID) and the National Commission of the People’s Republic of China for UNESCO, the Award is open to individuals and institutions in the Asia-Pacific region. Two winners will be selected, who will each receive a Certificate of Excellence and prize money of US $20,000.
Further details on the Award can be found here. The closing date for nominations is 27 July, 2018.
Call for Applications: ESD Okayama Award 2018

RCE Okayama (Japan) is pleased to announce that the ‘ESD Okayama Award 2018’ is now open for entry.

Conducted by Okayama City and the ESD Okayama Award Steering Committee, it rewards outstanding ESD practices in local communities around the world to support the organisations carrying out ESD activities, and also to showcase and promote ESD.

  • Eligibility: Organisations based in any country, including Japan, implementing ESD activities in local communities are eligible to apply for the Global Prize
  • Prize: USD $3,000
  • Number of Award Winning Projects: Up to two (2) projects
  • Award Ceremony: Award winners will be invited to the Award Ceremony on Saturday 27 October, 2018 in Okayama, Japan, and will be requested to give a presentation on the project
  • Deadline for applications: 29 June, 2018, 5pm (Japanese Standard Time)

For more details (application guidelines, application form and information about former award-winning projects of the ESD Okayama Award), please visit the official website.


If your school has implemented activities or programmes to improve health and nutrition of students, you are invited to participate in the ‘2017 SEAMEO-Japan Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) Award’ on the theme ‘Improving Health and Nutrition’. Deadline is 5 September. Read more


RCE Okayama, Japan is pleased to announce that the ‘ESD Okayama Award 2017’ is open for entry. It rewards outstanding ESD practices in local communities around the world to showcase ESD and to support organizations carrying out ESD activities.

Deadline is 30 June 2017.


UNESCO-Hamdan bin Rashid Al-Maktoum Prize for Outstanding Practice and Performance of Teachers

The Prize goes for outstanding practice and performance in enhancing the effectiveness of teachers. It amounts to USD $300,000 shared equally by three winners. Deadline for nominations is 31 October 2017.

ISCN Sustainable Campus Excellence Awards: 2017 Call for Nominations! Deadline is March 3, 2017. Categories are Building and Innovative Infrastructure, Campus Planning and Management Systems, Innovative Collaboration, and Student Leadership

If your school is in South East Asia and has implemented activities to reduce energy consumption, you can participate in the 2016 SEAMEO-Japan ESD Award. You can be recognised as a model of best practices in energy conservation and to promote ESD across South East Asia. Deadline is 25 November 2016.


Run by Okayama City and the ESD Okayama Award Steering Committee, the Award will reward outstanding ESD practices in local communities around the world to showcase ESD and to support organizations carrying out ESD activities. Deadline for application is 29 July 2016. For more details check their website.​